Friends, Partners, and Lovers Review

32510907

TITLE: Friends, Partners and Lovers: What it Takes to Make your Marriage Work

AUTHORS: Kevin A Thompson

ISBN13: 9780800728113

PUBLISHING: Fleming H. Revell Company

RELEASE DATE: May 2nd 2017

PAGES: 218

GENRE(S): Nonfiction, Marriage, Self Help

GOODREADS LINK

ORDER HERE

SYNOPSIS:

MY RATING:

STAR RATING: 5*****
“MOVIE” RATING: PG-13 (talks about intimacy in marriage, etc.)

MY REVIEW:

When I first got this book in the mail, I was a bit wary about reading a book about helping your marriage work. Thankfully and wonderfully, it actually has opened my eyes into what I should do (and naturally what my husband and I should do together) to make our marriage work [better]. It’s my belief that each marriage can be better or improved, even if it’s a slight change. We can always keep improving what we do in our relationships and marriage is not an exception. One of the things that I liked the most about this book was that it looked at the three levels of a marital relationship listed in the title: friends, partners, and lovers. Each of them are IMPORTANT and each are ESSENTIAL in any marriage. It definitely opened my eyes to what was missing in our marriage and what we needed to improve upon in order for us to feel more complete together.

This book can easily be read with your spouse or just talk about every night or so. There are questions you can ask yourself at the end of each chapter and that really had me reflect on each of our personal habits, desires, and needs in our marriage, specifically.

One thing that I should mention is that Mr. Thompson is a pastor and he brings up a few religious items within the book. However, there is nothing heavy, spiritually, that he includes. The inclusion of religious or spiritual themes didn’t bother me but helped me realize other things in our lives since we are Christians. I know people are oftentimes touchy about religion but this book uses it effectively in this book and rather focuses on marriage itself rather than chastisement.

Since this is a book about marriage, there is indeed discussion of sex within marriage. However, there is nothing “rated R” about the content. Everything is clean and the section on lovers sticks with the positive aspects of it in your marriage rather than specific things to do within that realm of intimacy.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. My husband and I discussed several things as I read a section every night and it gave us an excuse to talk about some hard topics or things that hardly ever come up in day to day conversation. I’m planning to reread this throughout my life and come back to several parts where I wanted to highlight and work on personally. Very grateful for the opportunity to read this great piece of nonfiction work.

ABOUT Kevin A Thompson:

Kevin A. Thompson (MDiv, Beeson Divinity School) is lead pastor at Community Bible Church, a growing multi-site church with four locations in western Arkansas. Every year he meets with nearly one hundred couples with a range of needs, from pre-marital counseling to navigating the most serious betrayals. A marriage and parenting conference speaker, he and his wife, Jenny, have two children and live in Fort Smith, Arkansas. He blogs at www.kevinathompson.com.

Comment here!

