Persuasion: 1st Discussion

Image result for persuasion jane austen

WELCOME TO THE 1st Discussion!

 

Hey y’all! We only have two discussions with Persuasion and extra days for reading. Finally, I don’t feel like I have to hurry through! I’ve been behind on my review books so I apologize for getting this up later than I usually post, but it’s been a very busy week so I’m sure you guys won’t mind too much! 🙂

Below is the discussion questions that I’ve collected for this Jane Austen classic and I hope you’ll enjoy them and get to know each other even more! Thanks for sticking around you guys. You rock.

DISCUSSION QUESTIONS:

  1. Imagine if your family rejected your partner as a marriage companion. How would you react to that? Even if they had the best of intentions and brought up some excellent points, how would you react?
  2. I found a list of words that are used to describe people in Persuasion. They are: benevolent, charitable, delicate sense of honor, cultivated mind, honest, sensible, amiable, vain, conceited, silly, steady character, sweet, elegance of mind, disloyal, sense of duty, rational, discrete, polished, open-hearted, frank, sincere, confident, brilliant, headstrong, affectionate, good-natured, ambitious, good-hearted, friendly, faithful, gentle, energetic, patient, competent, responsible, happy, good mannered, of sound judgment, observant, moderate, shrewd, and unaffected.                 Which ten characteristics would you like most to have and which ten would you least like to have? Why? Are these characteristics considered amiable in a woman? A man?
  3. Compare Sir Elliot’s expectations for each of his three daughters.
  4. What do you think led Anne to acquiesce to her family’s wishes? Should families have a say in whom their children marry? Explain
  5. What does Captain Wentworth say he admires in women? Why might this be important to him?
  6. Captain Benwick is trying to get over the death of his fiancee. What advice would you give him?
  7. Why do you think Jane Austen decided to title this book, Persuasion?
  8. What effect does Louisa’s fall have upon the renewal of intimacy between Anne and Captain Wentworth?
  9. Which couple does Anne look to as an example of a happy marriage? Do you agree or disagree with Anne? Who do you look to as an example of a happy marriage? You can answer either fiction or nonfiction. 🙂
  10. Other thoughts???

You may answer as many questions as you like or just run with your thoughts!

Comment away!

18 thoughts on “Persuasion: 1st Discussion

  1. thereadingrebel says:

    Q7 Jane Austen didn’t title this book Persuasion her brother did. She called it the Elliots. It was published after her death by Henry her favorite brother as was Northanger Abbey which was called Catherine. He renamed them.

    Q9 The Crofts are the most happily married couple in all of Austen other then the heroes and heroines at the end. The work together, respect each other, and Admiral Croft doesn’t seem to mind at all his wife being the most feminist character in Austen. Why do I want to quote Charlotte? Happiness in marriage is a matter of chance. No I don’t believe that but with most of heroine’s families that seems true. It seems most of them were blinded by beauty and married someone who would never make them happy. I think the Musgroves are the only other happily married couple I can think of in Austen.

    I really like the Musgroves even if they are simple honest people but I do think the two daughters are just less ridiculous versions of Kitty and Lydia from P&P. I can so see one of them doing what Lousia did. They will never light the Thames on fire but still I like them. Charles was not very smart to marry Mary. They don’t got together at all. Charles just seems to bare with his wife. She really isn’t a good mother or homemaker. Mary is one of the most annoying characters to me. She is so whiney and thinks she is the greatest person because she is the daughter of a man with a title.

    Poor Anne. I feel so bad for her. She was so in love with Wentworth(she still is)and she broke the engagement. I don’t get it. They could have had a long engagement like Captain Benwick and his fiance. But Lady Russall wanted her to marry money and because she was the only person who gives a care about Anne she broke it off. I would hope I would have resolve not to do that. The thing is Wentworth didn’t seem to have any bad qualities and loved Anne. The only thing that seemed to bother her was he didn’t have money and he was brave and took chances.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thereadingrebel says:

    Q6 Captain Benwick will recover in time. He is young and has a warm heart. He will grieve and love again. I would tell him that. He will always love his lost fiance but with time his heart will heal and love will come again. Friendship might even turn to love. He needs to see other people and go into society. He might meet someone who is grieving like him and they might become each other comfort.

    Like

  3. spines in a line says:

    Q4 I don’t know that I’m gonna end up actually answering this question but I just wanted to share my thoughts on this match. So first, having never read this book before, I could see Lady Russell’s point in being worried about Captain Wentworth. He was putting everything on chance and she didn’t see that as a secure future for Anne (and neither did I). Plus, with the misadventures of young girls in the previous Austen novels I read, it seemed like this was a disaster averted.

    However, when we actually got to meet Wentworth, my feelings completely changed! We don’t really learn until this point in the novel how much Anne cared for him, that it really wasn’t just a youthful infatuation. And Wentworth in person rather than through these rumours proves to be a very mature and responsible person, even if he does rely on luck to get ahead. I still can’t really blame Lady Russell for what she did because I felt the same way about it being an uncertain match, but poor Anne!

    Liked by 1 person

    • thereadingrebel says:

      Nothing in life is secure. Anne and Wentworth staying engaged wouldn’t have hurt either of them. They could wait for him to move up. It wasn’t hopeless for someone without connections to move up but was much harder plus after his sister’s marrying the Captain he would have had some push for Wentworth. Plus keeping the engagement they would have found out if it was just an infatuation. Lady Russell didn’t like him because he wasn’t what she wanted for Anne.

      Liked by 1 person

      • spines in a line says:

        Yes, I think I was taken in by the bias of the family in forming my opinion of Wentworth, but I like him much better since getting to know him at Uppercross. Of course, it made me feel badly for poor Anne because of his initial treatment of her, but obviously quite justified as Anne herself says

        Liked by 1 person

      • thereadingrebel says:

        She broke his heart. People are not know to take that well. I wasn’t surprised at Wentworth’s coldness to her but like you felt so bad for Anne. She truly believed she was doing right. I do think that is a fault in Wentworth’s character because Darcy didn’t act like that to Elizabeth and he has much more pride then Wentworth. That is one of the reasons why Darcy is my favorite along with Colonel Brandon.

        Like

      • Chanda says:

        I like seeing this flaw in Captain Wentworth. He is such a strong character and everyone likes him in the book, but I like seeing that he has flaws. There are so many Austen heroes who don’t have any, so I find it kind of refreshing.

        Like

  4. spines in a line says:

    I do want to add my other thoughts on Lady Russell. Obviously, Anne is in pretty bad company with the other Elliots and their pride so I’m glad she has someone on her side. Still, Austen mentions that Lady Russell is blind to Walter’s faults so she’s clearly not perfect. I hope this doesn’t come up later to cause trouble and I wonder whether she would still side with Anne if Walter was able to persuade her otherwise. Perhaps Walter’s feelings of the match between Anne and Wentworth influenced Lady Russell’s decision?

    Liked by 1 person

    • thereadingrebel says:

      Austen said that Lady Russell likes people of rank and thinks that much is due to them because they have titles. Sir Walter disliking the marriage would have made her more right in the feeling that Wentworth was a bad match for Anne. I also feel that Lady Russell wanted Anne to marry someone of rank. Anne is her favorite because she reminds her of her friend. She would have cared more about how she married then Mary and Elizabeth because she would have been sure of being in contact with them more.

      Like

  5. spines in a line says:

    Q5 I think he mentioned several things he’d like but the one that stood out to me was that it be someone who understands the importance of the Navy and respects their job, which immediately reminded me of Mrs. Clay’s opinions of the sailors. I think that’s a really reasonable expectation of Wentworth of his future mate, especially when his last love’s family has such disdain for his career.

    I think Sir Walter’s comments on the Navy were most telling so far about his character. He thinks the career is terrible because nobodies can become people of high standing, even though they don’t come from good families. But I mean, they earned their standing – what have you done, Walter?

    Liked by 1 person

    • thereadingrebel says:

      Many people with titles didn’t like that people of lower standing in society could work hard and then out rank them or equal rank them like in the Navy. Sir Walter is a snobbish worthless vain unkind man. He is so obsessed with his looks. He drives me crazy with that. As if looks are everything. Mrs. Clay has her eye at the main chance aka Sir Walter(I think I used that right)and she isn’t very pretty but she is a flatter and that is even more dangerous. Mrs. Clay isn’t pretty and Elizabeth and Sir Walter want her around. Being plain and have a charming manner is just as good as being handsome and an air head.

      Like

  6. spines in a line says:

    Some last comments, for now 🙂

    My first impression of this book was that it’s more of an ensemble story than about an individual. I know Anne is the main focus but I don’t think this was really clearly shown until about halfway through Volume 1, whereas with our other reads they seemed to have focused all attention on the MC right away.

    I found the description of Richard Musgrove quite funny because it was so terrible. I wonder if Jane knew someone named Richard, her way of getting back at him?

    With the match of Charles and Mary, I don’t think they’re well-suited but I honestly don’t know if they would have been better off with someone else. Neither of them really seem like tolerable people so I think being together they’ve at least figured out how to ignore the other when they need to. And their poor son! I understand their position that not everyone needs to remain with him, and Mary doesn’t always want to be resigned to that role, but they seem to show little care for him at all. Both of them are pretty selfish people so I don’t know whether they’d be happy with anyone that didn’t completely devote themselves to their needs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thereadingrebel says:

      I know Charles and Mary don’t scream parents of the year. (Unlike Charles’s parents who would never have left their kid when hurt) I do think that a better women who really loved him could have helped him be a better person. Mary and Charles don’t have affection at all for each other and are so ill matched. If Mary had married someone a rank higher then herself and lived in town she might not have been as whiney. She would be more in awe of having married high and with people in town and someone who really loved her. I would have hope for her being less of a whiney snob in less she married someone just like her and I would think they could be each others punishment.

      Liked by 1 person

      • spines in a line says:

        It’s hard to think of Mary as not being whiny! 😛 I agree she’d probably not be as whiny per se if she was with someone of higher rank but I get the feeling she’d be more like Mrs. Elton and find every opportunity to brag!

        Liked by 1 person

      • thereadingrebel says:

        Mary would always be braggy. She has too much of the Elliot pride. If she married higher also her father and sister would have wanted her around more(sadly had not thought of that)so she might have had an ever worse character. She wouldn’t always be with her husband and her father and sister would love to be with her because of her title so she might be better off where she is as a whiney prideful annoying Mrs. Charles Musgrove.

        Liked by 1 person

    • thereadingrebel says:

      Another of Austen’s novels doesn’t start with the heroine. This was her second go at it. I don’t remember reading anything about her hating someone named Richard. But that could well be and would make a lot of sense.

      Liked by 1 person

Comment here!

