Daughters of Ishmael Review

32560833

TITLE: Daughter of Ishmael

AUTHOR: Diane Stringam Tolley

ISBN: 9781462119660

PUBLISHING: Cedar Fort, Inc

RELEASE DATE: January 4th 2017

PAGES: 304

GENRE(S): Historical Fiction, Religious

GOODREADS LINK

BUY ME!

SYNOPSIS:

MY RATING:

STAR RATING: 5 *****
“MOVIE” RATING: PG

MY REVIEW:

My heart is completely torn up after finishing this novel. I’ve never ready something fiction about such a biblical story found in the Book of Mormon. I was a bit skeptical about this since there is so little known about what happened. However, this turned out to be such a wonderful story of faith and the decision of choosing the Lord or your family. Hannah’s story is so compelling that I immediately grasped the story with both hands as I travelled with her in the desert for years, found out that she did not end up with someone she was originally meant for, and then watching her suffer with people who would do wrong against their own family and God.

Even though this is a work of fiction, we still have yet to know what really happened during those many years. But knowing that something very similar to this could have happened, just breaks my heart. I connected with Hannah right from the beginning and thought that we are very similar in character and attitudes. With everything that is going on around us in this day, I can say that for many, if not most of us, have it easier than what Hannah went through in this book.

Hannah’s faith and unwavering love of the lord shown through in every aspect as I read and made me reevaluate my own faith. I so appreciate books like this. Novels with endings, such as this one, and characters with strength such as Hannah’s cause me, and I hope others who read this book, to reflect on changes that need to be made or items that need to be reviewed. It also reminded me of how blessed I am in my life.

Overall, I am very grateful that I had the opportunity to read this fine piece of a story we should probably think more about. I’d recommend this to anyone of faith or anyone in general. We all could use Hannah’s faith and strength in our own lives.

Diane Stringam Tolley

ABOUT Diane Stringam Tolley:

Diane Stringam Tolley was born and raised on a ranch in Southern Alberta, Canada. Educated in Journalism, she is the author of countless articles and short stories and has published several novels beginning with Carving Angels in 2011. She and her husband, Grant are the parents of six children and live in Beaumont, Alberta, Canada.

Comment here!

