My (not so) Perfect Life Review

perfect-life

TITLE: My (not so) Perfect Life

AUTHOR: Sophie Kinsella

ISBN: 9780812998269

PUBLISHING: The Dial Press

RELEASE DATE: February 7th 2017

PAGES: 448

GENRE(S): Chick Lit, Fiction, Contemporary

GOODREADS LINK

BUY ME!

16228623_1911047992463609_5971455145169387520_n

SYNOPSIS:

16110271_1182165341896781_3545139862376022016_n

MY RATING:

STAR RATING: 4.5 ****
“MOVIE” RATING: PG-13/R – For Language

MY REVIEW:

I’ve never read any of Kinsella’s books before and I immediately realized that I should have been read at least one besides this because her list of written books is impressive. Not from the first chapter but from the title itself I was drawn into this book and knew I HAD to read it for myself. Sophie Kinsella has such a unique way of grabbing the reader from within that I instantly admired and loved.

Not only her writing style and honesty that came forth but her main character, Katie, left such an impression on me. I could describe it using a single example. Katie’s life is nothing like how she describes and portrays on her Instagram account. I think we can all relate on this basis as many things in our own lives aren’t what we want or maybe what we hoped would turn out. And this is exactly what I realized when I completely Kinsella’s novel. No one’s life is perfect.

This was such a beautifully mastered novel that I had spurts of reading time where I didn’t want to put it down. Nor did I want to pick it up when I was busy during the day because I knew that I’d be trapped in its pages for a lengthy period of time. The characters are SO real and admirable in their own way. It’s almost like opening up a diary of their life. These circumstances that happen are fascinating and anyone can relate to their existence.

Katie was by far my favorite character. Her tenacity is evident as well as her determination to fulfill and live her dreams. No one is going to stand in her way, no matter what happened to her along the way. She’s also very clever and always on her toes with responses that I would probably botch if it was instead up to me.

To my deepest pleasure, I found that humor is also another strongpoint that I’ve found in this novel, and what I’ve heard is commonly established in Kinsella’s voice as an author. Though there are times where instances bog us down or keep us down in the dumps, the comedy present here has quite the opposite effect. Many times I burst out laughing or secretly giggled in my reading corner as events took place and the comedy was cast.

I don’t want to give anything away, but I loved the subtle romance and its tension once it became more prominent as well as the awesome friendship that is formed from the more unlikeliest of places! You really don’t wanna miss out on this!

Overall, such a fun-loving book and quite the eye-opener of figuring out what really holds meaning to life instead of the outside appearances. LOVED this book and I hope to read more of Kinsella’s work soon. I recommend this to anyone who doesn’t mind humor, spunk, and a bit of language!

Sophie Kinsella

ABOUT Sophie Kinsella:

Madeleine Wickham (born 12 December 1969) is a bestselling British author under her pseudonym, Sophie Kinsella. Educated at New College, Oxford, she worked as a financial journalist before turning to fiction. She is best known for writing a popular series of chick-lit novels. The Shopaholic novels series focuses on the misadventures of Becky Bloomwood, a financial journalist who cannot manage her own finances. The books follows her life from when her credit card debt first become overwhelming (“The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic”) to the latest book on being married and having a child (“Shopaholic & Baby”). Throughout the entire series, her obsession with shopping and the complications that imparts on her life are central themes.

Website Twitter * Facebook

Comment here!

