Ruined Review

ruinedcover

Title: Ruined

Author: M.C. Frank

ISBN: 9781514378762

PUBLISHING: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

RELEASE DATE: July 1st 2015

PAGES: 312

GENRE(S): Historical Fiction, RETELLINGS, ROMANCE

GOODREADS LINK

Buy Me!

SYNOPSIS:

MY RATING:

STAR RATING: 4.5 ****
“MOVIE” RATING: PG-13

MY REVIEW:

Oh my lanta! This was a superb Regency romance story and I could not put it down once I picked it up. The story follows a duke, left to raise a young, spoiled girl after his cousin passes away, who finds a governess willing to help straighten out the girl’s manners and disposition into one of a lady in high-society. The duke finds that this young governess is different from the other women he has hired, or has ever met and slowly learns to understand why she is this way. The two have dark pasts and, in their combined efforts to get to know each other and raise his young ward, find that they care for one another deeply. This is a retelling of Jane Eyre, though I have yet to read this classic, I couldn’t compare the true in this general area. However, the story was very compelling right from the start and once again, couldn’t put it down.

The duke, Dominic, is in his early thirties and develops well throughout the novel. He begins as a serious sort of fellow, never laughing nor feeling a need to do kind/good deeds for others. But once Beatrice walks in his life, you can easily follow the struggle within him as he fights his natural side and begins to become the man Beatrice desires him to be like. She fights for him and his soul as she shares her beliefs and hopes of a better future. Beatrice is selfless and kind no matter what happens and is always willing to give her life in exchange for others.

The flow of this story is great and I became very impatient with it as I kept reading simply because I wanted certain events to transpire before they came. This is one detail that I absolutely love when I am reading and it shows me that this book was worth reading in the first place.

How this book is written is a little different than most. Throughout the chapters, the POV changes between Dominic and Beatrice, not just one chapter being Dominic and the next, Beatrice. But they are divided in different parts. It was fun to look into each of their heads as these things transpired between them and understand each character more fully. I never was confused throughout these points as the transitions were fairly well constructed and the story kept going to the next POV.

A minor drawback for me was every time Beatrice has an audience with the duke, she cried each time. Though I understood her background and somewhat the reason for this rain, I felt that this constant pattern displayed distracted me from the novel. These were the only times where I wanted to stop reading because I couldn’t take any more of her crying! Again, this is a very minor negativity of my reading experience with this book. I have realized that this might have been her only outlet after trying to discipline her difficult pupil, etc. Beatrice, after all, has gone through hell itself prior to coming into the duke’s employment and I loved everything about her and her incredible strength regardless of her circumstances.

I had a lot of favorite pieces in this wonderful novel, but I think I loved the use of language the best. It transported me instantly into this time period. I’m a huge fan of Regency novels so the careful but wise use of this type of language was deeply appreciated and orchestrated with equal finesse.

The romance was clean but there was still that tension you feel in love stories such as this and it made me want them to hurry it up, realize they’re meant to be, and confess their true feelings for one another. It was delicious to read and I had a lot of fun getting to know each of the characters. Overall, I adored this book and I wanted more! To anyone who loves Regency or historical fiction, this is the book for you. Oh, plus romance people!

I received this book in exchange for an honest review from the generous author herself.

 

12048141

ABOUT M.C. Frank:

M.C. FRANK has been living in a world of stories ever since she can remember. She started writing them down when she could no longer stand the characters in her head screaming at her to give them life.
Recently she got her university degree in physics and is now free to pursue her love of reading and writing, as well as her free-lance job of editor-in-chief. She currently lives with her husband in a home filled with candles, laptops and notebooks, where she rearranges her overflowing bookshelves every time she feels stressed.
She loves to connect with book lovers and other writers on social media. She’s found the most amazing friends and readers on tumblr and instagram, and they are what keeps her going when things get rough.

Connect with her on social media for awesome giveaways
and free copies of her books! She would also love to talk to you about anything writing or publishing related.

Website Twitter * Instagram * Tumblr

One thought on “Ruined Review

Comment here!

