Girl Online Review

girl-online

TITLE: Girl Online

AUTHOR: Zoe Sugg

ISBN: 9780141357270

PUBLISHING: Atria / Keywords Press

RELEASE DATE: November 25th 2014

PAGES: 352

GENRE(S): Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

GOODREADS LINK

WHERE TO BUY (CLICK ME!)

SYNOPSIS:

MY RATING:

STAR RATING: 3 ∗∗∗
“MOVIE” RATING: G

MY REVIEW:

This book was super surprising to me in some ways. The characters were fun and I loved everything about their personalities and how many of them grew with the story and became a butterfly! I really did love Penny and her growth especially throughout so many terrible let-downs, horrors, and damages to her self-esteem. In that way, I felt like I was back in high school and reliving these same heart wrenching scenarios. But I hated high school so I was not a fan of reliving these moments in her life or remembering mine. I KNOW THIS IS YA so it didn’t sway my rating at all concerning this bit. Penny is such a strong character and incredibly positive where I don’t even think I could be. Perhaps this wouldn’t be as realistic if she wasn’t so firm in her path to grow and change.

I completely appreciate Elliott as Penny’s best friend, comedic relief, and added some real interest in the story. Although the story between Penny and Noah is mainly focused on, I didn’t feel like it was natural. The rushed romance in a little more than a week (maybe two?) is a little disbelieving and I wasn’t truly committed to them, even at the end. She’s just so young (15) compared to Noah so that was another part that I was confused about and surprised at the orchestration of this love affair. However, I loved every moment that Elliott was included in the dialogue and story because he completely added reason and realism. His character brought me (and Penny) back to reality several times and it was just interesting for me to realize that he should actually have his own story to tell as well. Elliott grows in the story, not in the same way as Penny, but their friendship is very inspirational and lovely to read about.

One thing that irked me a lot was both the 50 pages at the beginning and the 50 pages at the ending. They were the only parts of the book that were interesting to me. There was major conflict at both ends and then a lot of fluffy young teenage romance in the middle which didn’t interest me at all. I mean, I love romance and I didn’t like this…so I’m not sure how I feel about the main story within Girl Online. It took me a little longer than the average read (based on my past few months of reading) and though there was some connections I had with Elliott and Penny, I had a hard time reading and paying attention to the very quick romance that occurred. Overall, I’m not sure I will continue the series. Maybe if more people let me know if they liked the 2nd installment, but right now, I’ll probably be moving on from this.

ABOUT Zoe Sugg:

Zoe Elizabeth Sugg is an English fashion and beauty guru and internet personality. She is best known by her fans and viewers on YouTube as Zoella. She has a secondary channel, MoreZoella, which is primarily for her vlogs. She has collaborated with a myriad of other Youtubers as well as appeared in numerous magazines and won a Teen Choice Award.

Check out her website and twitter!

Comment here!

