A Bridge Across the Ocean Review

a-bridge-across-the-ocean

TITLE: A Bridge Across the Ocean

AUTHOR: Susan Meissner

ISBN: 9780451476005

PUBLISHING: Berkley Books

RELEASE DATE: March 14th 2017

PAGES: 384

GENRE(S): Historical Fiction, Fiction, History

GOODREADS LINK

WHERE TO PREORDER (CLICK ME!)

SYNOPSIS:

MY RATING:

STAR RATING: 4.5 ∗∗∗∗
“MOVIE” RATING: PG

MY REVIEW:

Right when I found this book and read the synopsis for A Bridge Across the Ocean, I was instantly hooked. There are few things that are instant grabs for me and Historical Fiction about WWII. Especially because this is about women for the most part and their various struggles through this time. Even though this is a work of fiction, there is a 100% chance that these things that occurred in this book probably happened to many women during the war. It was such a rich, beautiful story that I was blown away by.

One of the absolute neatest parts of this book was the idea of flash backs from WWII to present day. The flash backs follow two women, Annaliese and Simone who had two separate experiences during the war. They end up coming together by sailing on Queen Mary on their voyage from Europe to New York as war brides connecting again with their husbands in America. These wonderful women realize that they have much more in common than they think. Back to present day, Brette figures out these women’s stories and then finds herself in the process as well.

I can’t even describe how much I enjoyed this book. Believe me, it was worth the read. My heart grew instantly attached to these four women and now I’m in a slump about the book ending! Why must it always end?!

The only bit that made this a slow start was just being confused about the synopsis. I feel like it should be noted that this is sort of supernatural with the inclusion of ghosts, known as Drifters in the book. Regardless of this fact, I still was engrossed in this story and the women were very inspirational to me with the strength that they possessed even though the trials they went through were indescribable.

Sometimes flashbacks are hard to follow but for this book it was a piece of cake and it made me want to learn more and more about the story, obviously.

Anyways, I thought the story was incredible and it made me cry, laugh, read fast, read slow (because I didn’t want it to end), and jump for joy! GAH! Just go pre-order it right now so that you can share in my love for this book.

I received this book through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

ABOUT Susan Meissner:

Susan Meissner was born in San Diego, California, the second of three. She spent her childhood in just two houses. Her first writings are a laughable collection of oddly worded poems and predictable stories she wrote when she was eight.

She attended Point Loma College in San Diego, and married her husband, Bob, who is now an associate pastor and a chaplain in the Air Force Reserves, in 1980. When she is not working on a new novel, she is directing the small groups ministries at The Church at Rancho Bernardo. She also enjoy teaching workshops on writing and dream-following, spending time with my family, music, reading great books, and traveling.

HEY! GO CHECK OUT SUSAN’S SECRET HIDEOUTS: WEBSITE, TWITTER.

Comment here!

