Stardust Review

TITLE: Stardust

AUTHOR: Neil Gaiman

ISBN: 0061142026

PUBLISHING: HARPERCOLLINS

RELEASE DATE: FEBRUARY 1999

PAGES: 250

GENRE(S): FANTASY, Fiction

GOODREADS LINK

Where to buy (CLICK ME!)

stardust

SYNOPSIS:

MY RATING:

STAR RATING: 5 ∗∗∗∗∗
“MOVIE” RATING: PG-13

MY REVIEW:

First, I will say that I have watched the movie many times in the past and just have recently finished the book for the first time. Without a doubt, this is one adaptation that comes so very close to the original version, unlike many movies based on books. It was so interesting to be able to peep into Neil Gaiman’s mind and read this book more like a fairytale than any other sci-fi fiction novel.

I enjoyed the characters and especially Tristran as he grows while he is in Faerie. The book allowed the readers a more depth look into the characters and their thoughts (obviously). But it also gave us another look into what Faerie could be. Much like other “book worlds” that we read about, the magical world of Faerie seems to be more plausible and real than any other I’ve read before.

This book is definitely a quick read and took me a little over two days to read. It was full of action and suspense that, although I’ve seen the movie and expected certain things to happen at certain times, I was pleasantly surprised that there were some parts that differed in the movie from the book. (Though, now I realize that the differences in the movie were most likely added because this book was such a short, quick one to read).

I would definitely recommend this to those who love exploring new worlds, ideas, and fairytales but should caution you a little that this is not as child-friendly as the movie is. There are some explicit parts inside that didn’t bother me, but could bother others who are more sensitive. I know this is a short review to this wonderful book, but this is also a short book itself and I didn’t want to detract from its magic and enjoyment!

neilgaiman

ABOUT Neil Gaiman:

Neil Gaiman was born in Hampshire, UK, and now lives in the United States near Minneapolis. As a child he discovered his love of books, reading, and stories, devouring the works of C.S. Lewis, J.R.R. Tolkien, James Branch Cabell, Edgar Allan Poe, Michael Moorcock, Ursula K. LeGuin, Gene Wolfe, and G.K. Chesterton. A self-described “feral child who was raised in libraries,” Gaiman credits librarians with fostering a life-long love of reading: “I wouldn’t be who I am without libraries. I was the sort of kid who devoured books, and my happiest times as a boy were when I persuaded my parents to drop me off in the local library on their way to work, and I spent the day there. I discovered that librarians actually want to help you: they taught me about interlibrary loans.”

If you want to read more about Neil and neat things, go check out his website!!!!

Comment here!

