Melody’s Key Review

Title: Melody’s Key

Author: Dallas Coryell

ASIN: B01HK4DVO0

Publishing: AsherRain Publications

Release Date:  June 24th 2016

Pages: 305

Genre(s): Romance

Goodreads Link

Where to buy (CLICK ME!)

SYNOPSIS:

“His eyes settled on her…piercing green embers of flame that revealed the ferocity of his pain and passion, yet still shrouded him under veils of ever deepening mystery that made every ounce of her ache to unravel him.”

Tegan Lockwood’s dreams were dead, sacrificed on the noble altar of duty before they ever had a chance to live. Her entire existence was disappearing into the abyss of apathy as she labored her days away keeping her family’s struggling business alive. There would be no emotion, no color, no beauty in her life. That is, until a mysterious visitor begins to draw her out of the darkness of her past towards something that will challenge the boundaries of her world, and unlock the most deeply held secrets of her heart.

My Rating:

Star Rating: 4.5 ∗∗∗∗.∗
“Movie” rating: pg-13

my review:

“The sound was insufferable; a cacophony of blaring intrusion rudely tearing her out of the rather lovely dream she had been having.” – First line in Melody’s Key.

There were so many thoughts running through my head as I was reading this lovely novel. First of all, my favorite character was undoubtedly the main character, Tegan. I can relate to her on so many levels including her wit, some of her many talents, and her “real-ness” if that makes sense. The way I jump to conclusions or the first response is anger created an instant parallel between us as Tegan behaves similarly. This real attitude and personality made the book that much more real for me. Her constantly spent energy on her loving family and friends is very personable as well. The author definitely made it easy to love the characters in his book while creating some disdain with those opposed to the stars.

I was kept guessing through several of the conflicts in the story or what was going to happen next and that kind of writing is very refreshing to read. I wish more books were like this so that I can both appreciate and feel excitement with each chapter as I did with Melody’s Key.

My favorite part of Melody’s Key is just the beginning of the romance. I won’t spoil anything for those who haven’t read this but I love the teasing and joking between the two and how that makes the love stronger and more vibrant. Because of this, I was always laughing out loud, or, in several instances I couldn’t help but tear up at the tender bits regarding the family and love in general.

There were many precious moments tucked away in here and that made me want to read it quickly and finish it way before my deadline goal. I was so surprised with this book that I really enjoyed most every aspect. Though the book was more filled with tender, lighthearted, and fun moments, there is also some steamy places that the author has added. Though I don’t usually appreciate these intense, sensual scenes, there were few instances and when there were, the author was respectful and didn’t include too much information. I was really appreciative of this and it helped me enjoy the book even more and finish it within 2 days!

I just wanted to thank Dallas Coryell for reaching out to me for this honest review of his book, it was well worth losing sleep over such a well-written piece.

bio-photo

About Dallas Coryell:

Dallas Coryell is a musician and author residing deep in the untamed wilds of Michigan, USA, where he desperately attempts to assign meaning to his world through bouts of maniacal creative catharsis and pitifully doomed hopeless romantic fantasies. All of the songs written by the characters in this novel are real and can be viewed on the author’s fledgling YouTube channel.

Go check out Dallas’ Social Media accounts: Facebook, Instagram, YouTube, and Twitter.

Comment here!

